Skip Navigation Website Accessibility

Classes & Events

STITCH-INS


 

In-Store Stitch-Ins

Thursdays and Fridays, 10 am - 4 pm (Pacific)
Join a great group of stitchers for fun and stitching at the shop.
Most people arrive a little after 10 am, bring or buy lunch, and leave about 2 pm.
You can come for all or part of the fun - whatever works for you!

Note: After three years, our virtual stitch-ins over Zoom have come to a close.
We hope to see you online at our other Zoom events and at the shop for our in-store stitch-ins.

SPECIAL EVENTS

Email or call the shop (650-321-3494) to sign up for our special events.


 

First Tuesdays with June McKnight

Join us for special mini classes with the fabulous June McKnight! June will share her knowledge, wisdom, and creativity. Classes are held via Zoom from 6 pm - 7 pm (Pacific). 

Cost: $25 per class - includes live Zoom session, link to video replay, and handouts
>> Learn more

Couture Design Tue, Jan. 9 Diagonals Tue, Jul. 2
Circles Tue, Feb. 13 Big, Bold, and Beautiful Tue, Aug. 6
Where Did I Go Wrong? Tue, Mar. 5 Cross Stitch Mafia family Tue, Sep. 3
Textures Tue, Apr. 2 Custom Plaids Tue, Oct. 1
Feathers  Tue, May 7 Hair, Fur, and Fuzzy Tue, Nov. 5
Trellises and Lace Tue, Jun. 4 Bring on the Sparkle Tue, Dec. 3

 

May: OWD Stitching Retreat 2024

Come join the fun at our three-day stitching retreat in beautiful Carmel, California. Bring your own project(s) to work on, and we’ll have Stitch Doctors June McKnight, Elizabeth Pavel, and Suzanne Attenborough on hand to provide assistance. 

When: Thursday, May 16 - Saturday, May 18
Where:  Carmel Women’s Club
Cost:  $400 - includes meals and entertainment (hotel not included)

>> Learn more


 

July: Field Trip to Visit Maggie in San Francisco

Join us for a field trip to visit Maggie in San Francisco! We'll meet at 10:30 am at Maggie's house, where you'll get to see her beautiful needlepoint and other art collections. You'll also get an exclusive first look at our July Maggie Trunk Show and receive a 20% discount on trunk show canvases.

When: Monday, July 1, 10:30 am - 2 pm
Where:  San Francisco
Cost:  $35 - includes lunch and drink (transportation not included)

>> Learn more


 

October: Pippin Peonies Workshop

Join us this October 25-26 to stitch this cheerful canvas from Pippin. Our own Stitch Doctor Elizabeth has created a great stitch guide with lots of interesting, yet accessible stitches and fun fibers (plus no plying!). Elizabeth will also lead the two-day class at the shop. 

When: Friday, October 25 - Saturday, October 26
Where:  Old World Designs
Cost:  $650 - includes canvas, stitch guide, fibers, and live workshop
>> Learn more 

GROUP CLASSES

Two-hour group classes at the shop to learn a new technique or get assistance with your project. Email or call (650-321-3494) to sign up.



 

Stitching Study Hall

This monthly program with Elizabeth is designed for the Advanced Beginner stitcher and includes:
  • Five topic-specific classes -- learn decorative stitches & create a stitch reference book
    $75 per class - includes canvas, threads, handouts, and materials to create stitch book
  • Six group lessons -- receive help on your current project or stitch book
    $35 per class - bring your project and your questions 
Wednesdays, 11 am - 1 pm, or Saturdays, 10 am - 12 pm
 
2024 Schedule:
Go-To Backgrounds: Full Coverage Stitches Wed, Jan. 24 Sat, Jan. 20
Group Lesson Wed, Feb. 21 Sat, Feb. 24
Build Your Stitch Library: Mosaic & Cashmere Wed, Mar. 20 Sat, Mar. 23
Group Lesson Wed, Apr. 24 Sat, Apr. 27
Go-To Backgrounds: Open Stitches Wed, May 22 Sat, May 25
Group Lesson Wed, Jun. 19 Sat, Jun. 22
Group Lesson Wed, Jul. 17 Sat, Jul. 27
Group Lesson Wed, Aug. 21 Sat, Aug. 24
Build Your Stitch Library: Scotch Stitches Wed, Sep. 18 Sat, Sep. 21
(no class in October) - - - - - -
Build Your Stitch Library: Knots, Loops & Lines Wed, Nov. 13 Sat, Nov. 16
Group Lesson Wed, Dec. 11 Sat, Dec. 14


 

Grab & Go Classes

Join us in these 2-hour classes to get help with some of the tricker aspects of needlepoint. Our teachers will share their knowledge, expertise, tips, and tricks. These Saturday sessions are sure to be worth the price of admission!

$75 per class - includes instructions, written guide, doodle canvas, and threads

Turkey Work Saturday, Feb. 17 10 am - 12 pm
Hair & Beards Saturday, May [TBD] 10 am - 12 pm
Compensation Saturday, August 17 10 am - 12 pm
Round Stitches Saturday, October 19 10 am - 12 pm



 

Group Embellishment Class

These group classes are held once a month at the shop, typically on the first Saturday of the month. Bring your current project and our instructors (Suzanne or Elizabeth) will provide some wonderful options to elevate your stitching and help with sticky spots.
$35 per class

Saturday Morning Group:   10 am - 12 pm

Saturday Afternoon Group: 1 pm - 3 pm

2024 Dates: January 6 July 13
  February 10 August 3
  March 2 September 7
  April 6 October 5
  May 4 November 2
  June 1 December 7

PRIVATE LESSONS

Please email or call the shop (650-321-3494) to sign up for any of our private lessons.

 

June McKnight

Nationally recognized teacher and prolific author, June McKnight joins us via Zoom for private lessons and special group classes. Learn from a master!

One-hour private lessons via Zoom available by appointment.
>> Learn more 


 

Suzanne Attenborough

Avid stitcher and teacher, Suzanne offers private lessons in addition to group embellishment classes (see above).

One-hour private sessions available by appointment.
>> Learn more

 

Elizabeth Pavel

Elizabeth specializes in teaching new stitchers and offers private lessons in addition to her Stitching Study Hall program (see above).  

One-hour private session and group sessions available on Fridays and some Saturdays by appointment.
>> Learn more 

To see all class offerings, please view our Calendar or click here for the Full Class List.